Custom Channel: What's the difference between Deactivating & Removing?


I would like to remove or deactivate some of my custom channels.
I just can't figure out what's the difference between the two.


If I deactivate, is my custom channel gone for the advertiser but I still can look into the tracking data?


Thank you so much for any clarification and help - appreciate it!